If you come by this place, welcome.  If you stay, I am going to assume that what interests me interests you as well.  So, lets get started.

There will probably be several informal series;  one will likely deal with my conversion to the Orthodox faith.  There are a lot of conversion stories on the Internet.  Some of them are high-profile and generate a lot of controversy.   Others are less public, but no less heartfelt.

There’s always room for one more, isn’t there? i mean, it’s a big Internet.

Also, there will be an informal series on the writings of the Inklings, JRR Tolkien, CS Lewis, Charles Williams, Owen Barfield.

I am particularly interested in Williams and Barfield because they are so little known. The effort I had to make in understanding Williams changed me from a standard-issue American Egalitarian Transcendentalist Evangelical into a small-c catholic hierarchical Sacramentalist, and I believe that the process is probably irreversible. It is kind of akin when someone tells you that a spackle of plaster on the wall looks like your Uncle Victor. Once you have seen the resemblance, you cannot by force of will unsee it.

With Barfield, I have just began the process of intellection and assimilation. He is very, very interesting. What I like about him is that he appears to offer a way out of our current epistemological cul-de-sac.

I’ll talk about the cul-de-sac, too. I love Epistemology.

Anyway, thanks for dropping by.

